Why Shabu-Shabu is Bad for You

I’m now addicted to shabu-shabu.

This is something that I really needed to confess.

It’s not my fault. A friend pushed me to try it and I tasted it nonetheless.

I was not alone in this crime. Four Japanese nationals and four locals were with me that time.

It’s the same one they make in Japan and I guess the Yakuza gangsters secretly adore it like they do the Land of the Rising Sun.

And now Japanese entrepreneurs are introducing it in Cebu.

They’re targeting former addicts, people like me and you.

If the authorities find out about this, they’ll surely search and interrogate me, which leaves me no choice but to surrender and concede.

And indeed, they got me. I’m now being held at a secret facility.

What you’re about to read at this very moment is my sworn statement on the night I was busted for shabu-shabu.

Brace yourself, I’m going to expose it, revealing every single clue.

It all started when I made the decision to head over to this unassuming establishment.

Quite a small place but was enough to accommodate new clients.

I was led to the second floor by one of the staff to avoid the outside crowd.

Then and there, the evidence was already on the table completely laid out.

They were, I think…expecting me.

I was then served with ice-cold Oolong Tea.

And to make sure no drink was laced, we needed to say kampai and clink our glasses.

Upon tasting it however, I noticed that my tea was spiked which I deduced was on purpose to help us relax and lower our defenses.

The process was fairly simple. Just pick any ingredient, dip it on the boiling broth and say shabu-shabu.

You may then mix it with two available sauces, sesame and ponzu.

My first bite involved paper-thin slices of beef, cabbages, spinach, mushroom, thin noodles, sesame sauce and tofu.

It was so good I gobbled it so fast that I forgot to say itadakimasu.

The combined flavors indeed brought me to elevated levels of euphoria.

I guess now it’s impossible for me to put an end to this paranoia.

I know I need to stop but it’s so hard to do.

I’m now addicted to shabu-shabu.

Nabe-ya Shabu - Copy

Nabe-ya Shabu-Shabu and Hotpot is located on the 2nd floor of Hamakaze right across The Space in A.S.Fortuna Banilad Cebu City. They are open from 4pm to 12mn. For inquiries and reservations, call them at (032) 505 4220 or drop a message on their official Facebook page.

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Luna says:

    Not a bad addiction to have!

    Like

    1. Hahaha they say it’s good if you’re on a diet. Their sesame sauce is really the best.

      Like

  2. lyssaamor says:

    hahaha thank you for this Karlo! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. thanks for the experience, had a great time Lyssa 🙂

      Like

  3. Ace&Demi says:

    I guess you better prepare yourself for Oplan Tokhang. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hahahahaha no truer words have been spoken. Hello kindred spirits Ace and Demi 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

